FREE CHOICES Counselor Online Training Course Now Enrolling!

| April 23, 2017

Learn how to prevent alcohol-exposed pregnancies and conduct the CHOICES* intervention through a 6 week online course that blends live webinar-based modules and self-paced modules.

The course will take place May 8 to June 5, 2017
2PM EDT
, 1 PM CDT, 12 PM MDT

For more information on the course and to enroll, contact:  Katie Langland, klangland@yahoo.com or 720-771-5641.

Find more CHOICES information at: https://www.cdc.gov/ncbddd/fasd/choices-importance-preventing-alcohol-exposed-pregnancies.html

At the conclusion of course, participants will be able to:

  • Discuss the risks of an alcohol-exposed pregnancy (AEP)
  • Discuss ways to prevent an AEP
  • Describe components of motivational interviewing that are fundamental to the CHOICES  program
  • Demonstrate motivational interviewing strategies used in CHOICES
  • Discuss the key components of the CHOICES counseling sessions
  • Conduct each of the CHOICES counseling sessions

*The CHOICES name was originally an acronym that stood for Changing High-Risk Alcohol Use and Increasing Contraception Effectiveness Study. After the study was completed, the name remains but is no longer spelled out.

Tags: , , , ,

Category: Educational Opportunities, Health, Programs, Resources

Comments are closed.